You’ve Got to Break a Few Eggs

brokeneggsI’m sitting here at 111 Centre Street, waiting for voir dire. We’ve been here since 8:45 this morning, about 120 of us. We watched a charming film about our civic duty. We heard our rights and responsibilities outlined. And then we sat. At 12:30 we were let go for an hour and a half lunch break. And now we’re back, still waiting at 3:13 pm. It may be inefficient, and most of us are griping about losing the day, especially those worried about money and jobs and other responsibilities. Hmmm, just about everyone.

Oh, I know. I got plenty of advice on how to get out of jury duty, how to ensure I didn’t get picked. I don’t want to be here. No one wants to be here. But I want to have to be here. Because when I look around the room at my peers, I’m glad we’re all represented. These are the people who should be making these decisions; this is still the best, fairest system of justice.

Broken eggs, some of them mine. A fortifying omelet. Though I’m only imagining eating it, it’s nice to know it’s here. Acceptable damage, in my book.

But when it comes to the financial markets, there are so many broken eggs it’s getting kind of slippery to walk through the mess. And if there’s a recipe, well, there seem to have been so many changes and substitutions it’s difficult to tell whose or what it is anymore.

Ingredients: transparency, short selling, insolvent shadow banks, dealing with toxic assets, and the big one, lack of equity capital. But which eggs to break? How many? Who breaks them? What are the right proportions of the various ingredients? Do we do the prep work first, clean up as we go along, and then start cooking (that’s what my mother taught me), or do we just wing it and trust in experience and inspiration?

Are we making the tastiest, biggest, most nutritious omelet we can with the ingredients we’ve got? Oh, and who gets to eat this omelet, anyway?

Copyright © 2009 Marlin S. Potash. All rights reserved.

One response to “You’ve Got to Break a Few Eggs

  1. Well my two cents about the jury system in the U.S. is it’s ridiculous! The amount of time and energy that is wasted to bring thousands of people to court houses every day, only to send two thirds of them home is absured. Especially when you think of how many people there are actually trying to get thrown off a case, because they can’t loose the income or simply because they don’t want to be involved. Most of the people I know are not qualified to be jurors, they have so many predjudices and or pre-concieved notions about things in general that you couldn’t get an un-biased opinion from them on anything.
    This is why I think we need professional jurors, people who pass certain tests, IQ and carefully constructed tests designed to weed out bigots and those with an agenda. These people should all be retired and the income generated should not interfere with social security benefits. This would be a great help to those older people that want an income but will not be hired because of their age, and people like my parents who would love to feel useful. Even if some of them had to be picked up by mass transit and taken home again, I think it would be an answer to alot of problems. I hope I never need to go before a jury, but a jury of my peers is a very scary thought, a jury of professionals makes you feel like you got a chance at a fair shot.
    Peace
    Glen

Leave a Reply

