How to Deal with His/Her Defensiveness

Not a blasted clue.

Oh, I can tell you how a therapist does it. But how does that translate into real life relationships? That’s a really tough one. I can’t say I have mastered it yet. And I have been tackling it for years and years. Being on the wrong side of a defensive person is so taxing, so frustrating. There’s lots written about dealing with one’s own defensiveness, but I haven’t found much at all that’s helpful about how best to cope with someone else’s defensive behavior.

That’s how difficult this one is. But I’m working on it. Why it’s so difficult to deal with.

Tune in for part I: How it Works.

Then we’ll get to Part II: What a defensive person should/could do.
and Part III: What to do when you’re on the other side of someone’s defensiveness.

And please. If you have any ideas about what works (or doesn’t), write a comment! I know I’m not the only one having trouble with this one!

Copyright © 2009 Marlin S. Potash. All rights reserved.

3 responses to “How to Deal with His/Her Defensiveness

  1. Hey Marlin,

    You have a great site! A lot of great reading material (just bookmarked it). My name is Lisa, and I work with the website ZooCaro.

    I just came across your site and am hoping you can add our job search site to your employment links list. All the info is below, I can put your link up in exchange.

    Title: College-Site.com
    URL: http://www.college-site.com/
    Description: Helping College students and graduates connect with potential employers!

    Let me know what you think!

    Thank you very much,

    Lisa

  2. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now. Keep it up!
    And according to this article, I totally agree with your opinion, but only this time! 🙂

  3. I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

Leave a Reply

